ANIDOX:VR Awards 2020

ANIDOX:VR Awards –  factual and visual storytelling in emerging media/VR.

This year – in the heart of Viborg, Gallery NB will host ANIDOX:VR Awards exhibition as part of Viborg Animation Festival. ANIDOX:VR is an exciting international showcase and a key player in the documentary and VR landscape.The jury awards the most outstanding VR experience a cash prize and the most innovative work, a residency at The Animation Workshop / Open Workshop – for the development of new work.

Congratulations to the directors of Minimum Mass – Raqi Syed and Areito Echevarria, and to Floréal Films for the ANIDOX:VR award 2020!!
Congratulations to the director of Hush – Vibeke Bryld, and to Final Cut for Real for the ANIDOX Open Workshop residency award

Huge thanks to all the participating projects! Huge thanks to our jury, panel, to all our visitors, helpers, supporters and collaborators:

Viborg Animation Festival, Galleri NB, HTC VIVE, The Animation Workshop/VIA University College.

Read about the exhibition (in Danish): Ekko film magazine


Watch the trailers

  • Hush by Vibeke Bryld, Final cut for real, DK (12 min.)
  • Minimum Mass by Raqi Syed and Areito Echevarria, Floreal films FR/NZ (20 min.)
  • Missing Pictures: Birds of Prey by Clément Deneux, Atlas V (8 min.)
  • The Dawn of Art by Pierre Zandrowic, Atlas V, FR (10. min.)
ANIDOX:VR Seminar (both live and online event)

24 September 2020
Meet the makers:
Uri Kranot moderates a talk about VR animated docs and immersive storytelling with guests and jury panel:
> Simon Løvind, Danish Film Institute (DK)
> Yves Nougarède, Annecy Int. Animation Festival (FR)
> Martina Scarpelli, Filmmaker (IT/DK)

Q&A with the team of Hush:
Vibeke Bryld, Director / Maria Kristensen, Producer / Lars Hemmingsen, Lead artist

ANIDOX:VR Award 2019

*The Scream* (Sandra Paugam and Charles Ayats / Cineteve)
*Another dream* (Tamara Shogaolu / Ado Ato pictures)

• Klara Grunning, The Swedish Film Institute
• Simon Løvind, The Danish Film Institute
• Monica Hellström, Producer, Final cut for Real
• Uri Kranot, ANIDOX, The Animation Workshop

Sponsored by HTC VIVE. Hosted by Viborg Animation Festival and supported by The Animation Workshop/Via University College, Vision Denmark, The European Union, Viborg Kommune, The Danish Film Institute, and the Swedish Film Institute.

Works in competition:

Ayahuasca Kosmik Journey – ​ 2019 / 18 Min / France, Luxemburg
Director: Jan Kounen
Production: Atlas V, a_BAHN, Small
Link to trailer: Ayahuasca (Kosmik journey) / Ayahuasca (Kosmik Journey) (2019) – Trailer (International)

Homestay –  2018 / 15 min / Canada
Directors: Paisley Smith, Jam3 and the NFB Digital Studio
Production: National Film Board of Canada
Link to trailer: Homestay (Trailer)

Another dream – 2019 / 20 Min. / Netherlands
Directors: Tamara Shogaolu
Production: Ado Ato pictures
Link to trailer: ANOTHER DREAM / حلم آخر – Teaser

Accused # 2 Walter Sisulu –  2018 /15 min. / France
Director: Nicolas Champeaux and Gilles Porte
Production: La générale de production
Link to trailer: Accused#2 : Walter Sisulu (trailer)

The Scream – 2018 / 15 Min. / France
Directors: Sandra Paugam and Charles Ayats
Production: Fabienne Servan Schreiber and David Bigiaoui
Link to trailer: THE SCREAM

Out of  competition:

Songbird VR Installation – 2018 / 10 Min. / United Kingdom/ Denmark
Directors: Lucy Greenwell / Michelle & Uri Kranot
Production: The Guardian VR / LateLove
Link to trailer: trailer songbird VR installation

For any questions regarding the ANIDOX:VR Award, please contact Michelle Kranot , ANIDOX Producer by email: