anidox vr awards 2020 banner anidox vr banner 2020
24.09.20 - 27.09.20

ANIDOX:VR Awards 2020

Viborg Animation Festival, Denmark

ANIDOX:VR Awards 2020

Animated documentaries in Virtual Reality

ANIDOX:VR Awards –  factual and visual storytelling in emerging media/VR.

In the heart of Viborg, Gallery NB hosts ANIDOX:VR 2020 Awards exhibition as part of Viborg Animation Festival. ANIDOX:VR is an exciting international showcase and a key player in the documentary and VR landscape.

The jury awards the most outstanding VR experience a cash prize and the most innovative work, a residency at The Animation Workshop / Open Workshop – for the development of new work. Congratulations to the directors of Minimum Mass – Raqi Syed and Areito Echevarria, and to Floréal Films for the ANIDOX:VR award 2020!! Congratulations to the director of Hush – Vibeke Bryld, and to Final Cut for Real for the ANIDOX Open Workshop residency award

Huge thanks to all the participating projects! And thanks to our jury, panel, to all our visitors, helpers, supporters and collaborators: Viborg Animation Festival, Galleri NB, HTC VIVE, The Animation Workshop/VIA University College.

Read about the exhibition (in Danish): Ekko film magazine


Watch the trailers

  • Hush by Vibeke Bryld, Final cut for real, DK (12 min.)
  • Minimum Mass by Raqi Syed and Areito Echevarria, Floreal films FR/NZ (20 min.)
  • Missing Pictures: Birds of Prey by Clément Deneux, Atlas V (8 min.)
  • The Dawn of Art by Pierre Zandrowic, Atlas V, FR (10. min.)

24.09.20 Seminar

Uri Kranot moderates a talk about VR animated docs and immersive storytelling with guests and jury panel:

> Simon Løvind, Danish Film Institute (DK)
> Yves Nougarède, Annecy Int. Animation Festival (FR)
> Martina Scarpelli, Filmmaker (IT/DK)

Q&A with the team of Hush:
Vibeke Bryld, Director / Maria Kristensen, Producer / Lars Hemmingsen, Lead artist

Review ANIDOX:VR Awards 2019

ANIDOX:VR Awards 2020

ANIDOX:VR supported by

  • vision dk
  • vaf
  • vive logo
  • nb logo bw
  • viborg kommune bw


  • Klara grunning photo

    Consultant and guest tutor

    Emmy Award winning Klara Nilsson Grunning is a freelance content, production, distribution, financing consultant and executive producer for film, TV and cross media world-wide. Currently she is a film commissioner at the Norwegian Film Institute, previously she has been the documentary consultant at the Swedish Film Institute. Before which, she worked five years as the commissioning editor for documentary feature and short films at the Royal Danish Film Institute. Klara has been shaping and taking part in ANIDOX since 2012.

  • Uri photo

    Director, animator, filmmaker, teacher. Born 1975. Graduated from Bezalel Academy of Art and Design in Jerusalem. Master of Fine Arts from Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design in Budapest.

    Kranot is behind numerous award-winning animated shorts and VR projects, co-directed with his partner Michelle. Prominent titles include 'Hollow Land' (2013), which was on the Oscar shortlist for best animated short, and 'How Long, Not Long' (2016), which won the FIPRESCI prize at Annecy. Michelle and Uri Kranot are also behind the VR projects 'Nothing Happens' (2017), 'Songbird' (2019) and 'The Hangman at Home' (2021).

    Uri holds various positions at The Animation Workshop in Viborg, Denmark. Working with the Bachelor education, professional training and in research & development.

  • Tim photo

    Tim is the leader of talent and Skills Development, as well as Director of Open Workshop residency at The Animation Workshop / VIA University College. After working as a projects and events coordinator at Cartoon AEFA in Brussels, Tim joined The Animation Workshop in Viborg, Denmark, in 2003, where he since then leads The Animation Workshop’s Professional Training departments. Besides organising The Animation Workshop’s vocational animation/CG/VFX courses and master classes for European and international professionals, Tim runs the school’s talent development and independent production activities, supporting between 100 and 150 young talents and their projects every year.